Topalov
2812, BUL
Carlsen
2770, NOR
Ivanchuk
2746, UKR
Shirov
2745, ESP
Wang
2738, CHN
Dominguez
2721, CUB
Information News Interviews Participants Results & Games Sponsors & Partners Press Gallery In the media Play like Topalov

PARTICIPANTS

Veselin Topalov
Bulgaria
ELO 2812
Magnus Carlsen
Norway
ELO 2770
Vassily Ivanchuk
Ukraine
ELO 2746
Alexei Shirov
Spain
ELO 2745
Wang Yue
China
ELO 2738
Lenier Dominguez
Cuba
ELO 2721
 
 

PLACE

Bulgaria, The square in front of the National Theatre Ivan Vazov
 
 

RATE OF PLAY

System - round-robin in two rounds (all play all with White and Black alternatively)
Time control - 90 minutes for 40 moves + 1 hour to the end of the game. 
 
 

SCHEDULE

May 11 Arrival
May 12, 12.00 EEST (09.00 UTC) Press conference and drawing of lots
May 12, 19.00 EEST (16.00 UTC) Blindfold: V. Topalov vs V. Kontos
May 13, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC) Round 1
May 14, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC)  Round 2
May 15, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC) Round 3
May 16, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC)  Round 4
May 17, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC)  Round 5
May 18, 12.00 EEST (09.00 UTC)  Football: FC Levski vs Chess United
May 19, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC)  Round 6
May 20, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC)  Round 7
May 21, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC) Round 8
May 22, 16.00 EEST (13.00 UTC)  Round 9
May 23, 15.00 EEST (12.00 UTC)  Round 10
May 23, 20.00 EEST(17.00 UTC)  Closing ceremony 
May 24 Departure
 
 

TOURNAMENT RULES

The final standing of the players will be determined according to points. In case of sharing of places - the following criteria will be decisive for the tie-break:
The players should not talk during the games; additionally they should not offer draws directly to their opponents. Draw-offers will be allowed only through the Chief-Arbiter in three cases: a triple-repetition of the position, a perpetual check and in theoretically drawn positions. 
 
The Chief-Arbiter is the only authority who can acknowledge the final result of the game in these cases. He will be advised in his decisions throughout the tournament by GM Zurab Azmaiparashvili, FIDE Vice-President.
 
 

PHOTOGRAPHS, CAMERAS AND TV BROADCASTING 

Taking pictures in the tournament hall will only be permitted during the first 10 minutes after beginning of the game. 
TV broadcasting of the games can be done throughout the tournament of the playing area.
 


General sponsor

Sponsors
 

Partners

 

 

Links Contacts Press
© M-Tel Masters 2009 - All Rights Reserved. Website design and development by

All copyright, trade marks, design rights, patents and other intellectual property rights (registered and unregistered) in and on mtelmasters09.com and all content (including all applications) located on the site shall remain vested in the organizers of the tournament or its licensors. You may not copy, reproduce, republish, disassemble, decompile, reverse engineer, download, post, broadcast, transmit, make available to the public, or otherwise use mtelmasters09.com content in any way except for your own personal, non-commercial use. You also agree not to adapt, alter or create a derivative work from any mtelmasters09.com content except for your own personal, non-commercial use. Any other use of mtelmasters09.com content requires the prior written permission of the organizers.